Faistos

Distance 60 km to the south of Heraklion
Open to the public: 08:00 - 15:00 daily (winter timetable)
Entrance fee: Adults 8 €, over 65 4 €. Below 18 years of age and students free of charge.
Toilet Facilities: Available
Café: Available
Wi-Fi: Available
Parking space: Available for all types of vehicles
Facilities for people with disabilities: Available but not in the site.
Supervised by: Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Sports
Access & walking difficulty: Difficulty rating 3

Distance from the capital city of the prefecture is 60 km to the south of Heraklion. The initial research was conducted by the Italians F. Halbherr and A. Taramelli in 1884. After 1898 excavations were organized by Halbherr and Pernier (1900-1914) and later by Doro Levi (1950-1971) under the supervision of the Italian Archaeological School in Athens. The surface of the site adds up to 9 hectares. The region was inhabited from the 6th millennia BC to the early Byzantine years. Typical as it may seem, the earliest Minoan palace with the West court in three levels, Central court, sanctuaries, storage rooms, workshops, and other rooms arranged in at least two floors. The first complex, of a total surface of 18000 m2 , approximately 2 hectares, was built on the top of a low hill in the beginning of the second millennia BC and was destroyed by fire in 1700 BC. In the middle of the 16th century BC, possibly between 1570-1560 BC a new imposing palace was erected, of a total surface of 12000 m2 which lived on till the final destruction in 1450 BC. In the archaic years an urban settlement was built (Rhea temple and public buildings) until the destruction by the neighboring Gortyna in 150 BC. In the early Byzantine years simple tombs were dug in the upper West Court. Amongst the most significant finds, the yet to be deciphered clay disc in the transitional phase from Cretan Hieroglyphic to Linear A (known as Phaistos Disc) and plenty of Kamaraic style pottery of an exceptional quality. Floor plan of the site if available.

Карта

Другие путеводители

Saint Mark, Heraklion

The Venetian Cathedral of Saint Mark in Candia was built in the town square in 1239. Today it hosts the municipal gallery.

Больше

Nida Plateau

The famous plateau of Nida located ataltitude of 1450 meters above sea level. It bears the ancient name of the Psiloritis mountain

Больше

Tilisos

Tilisos village is 13 km away from Heraklion, en route to Anoyia, on an elevation of c. 200m. It is just outside of the village, that three big Minoan houses (villas) where discovered.

Больше

Sfakia

Sfakia is a coastal settlement of 350 residents. It played a leading role in all the Cretan uprisings against the Venetians and Ottomans and the wild character of its landscape has always provided a refuge for Cretans who were being pursued.

Больше

The city walls of Heraklion

The city walls of Venetian Candia, one of the major defense strategy and military achievements of its time.

Больше
Откройте для себя
Лучшие специалисты по Криту для Вас
Следите за нами
Следите за нами в социальных сетях и узнавайте наши новости первыми
Контакты

Andreadaki 13-15 Heraklion, Crete
712 01, Greece
Tel.: +30 2810-342222
Fax: +30 2810-342212
e-mail: touristguidesofcrete@gmail.com
ΜΗ.Τ.Ε. 1039 Ε 6000 00870 00
Office hours: Mon - Fri: 9.00 - 15.00

Информационный бюллетень
Регистрируйтесь для получения выгодных предложений и новостей компании первыми

CreditCards